If you’re an avid gymnastics fan like me, you’ve probably noticed that this weekend is either gonna be heaven or hell since five (!) nations are having their Nationals or Olympic Trails plus another World Challenge Cup is taking place in Anadia, Portugal. Get ready to organize your whole weekend around these competitions and to lose some precious hours of sleep in the process!

First let’s look at each competition by itself and at the end we’ll have a full schedule with everything combined and available livestreams.

US WAG Nationals + MAG Olympic Trials
This year USA Gymnastics decided to separate the women and men’s Nationals and Olympic Trials, with MAG Nationals happening at the same time as Classics earlier this month. Now, the men get their last Olympic selection competition and hope to impress their own committee while the women start their selection process, after many opted to take Classics a bit more lightly. Having won his fourth National AA title in a row, Sam Mikulak is leading the way for Olympic Trails, followed by Chris Brooks and Jake Dalton who placed second and third, respectively. Donnel Whittenburg should also be a big contender thanks to his huge Ri Se Gwang vault and high scores on rings, as well as Paul Ruggeri who finally made it out of the alternate spot at last year’s Worlds with high-scoring routines on floor and high bar (he got a 16 on day 2 of Nationals!). 2012 Olympians John Orozco and Danell Leyva are also trying to prove their worth to the team but their performances at Nationals weren’t what they were hoping for and they need to improve to have a real shot at making it to Rio. Finally Alex Naddour and Eddie Penev should still be in the mix due to their potential on pommels and floor, respectively.

Among the women, Simone Biles is the girl to beat after winning three consecutive Nationals AA titles and three consecutive World AA titles. Right behind her should be 2012 AA Olympic Champion Gabby Douglas and 2016 Classics winner Aly Raisman, both with really high chances of making the team. Maggie Nichols, who’s coming back from a meniscus tear, should also be a big contender if she’s back into her 2015 shape. New Seniors Laurie Hernandez and Ragan Smith will too be trying to prove they belong on the Olympic team while winning some Nationals medals along the way. As for specialists, MyKayla Skinner has her Amanar back (and it looked great at Classics) and could also factor in the selection, while the bars/beam specialist spot is really a fight Ashton Locklear and Madison Kocian, with Kocian getting the upper hand by having a complete AA set but showing some inconsistency after falling on beam at Classics. Many other gymnasts are also expected to perform world class routines that any country would kill for but that in the US will unfortunately not even make it to Olympic alternate. That’s the price to pay for such a strong depth.

Schedule:
Thursday, June 23rd
1pm local (7pm London) – Junior MAG Nationals (youtube)
7:30pm local (1:30am London) – MAG Olympic Trials (NBC Sports)

Friday, June 24th
1pm local (7pm London) – Junior WAG (youtube)
8pm local (2am London) – Senior WAG (NBC / youtube)

Saturday, June 25th
1pm local (7pm London) – Junior MAG Nationals (youtube)
8pm local (2am London) – MAG Olympic Trials (NBC)

Sunday, June 26th
1pm local (7pm London) – Junior WAG (youtube)
8pm local (2am London) – Senior WAG (NBC / youtube)

Livestreams: NBC / NBC / NBC / NBC Sports
Live results: MAG / WAG

Dutch Nationals 2016
The Netherlands are also having their National Championships this weekend as one the Olympic qualifiers with the top Belgian gymnasts also using this competition in the Olympic selection process. Among the Dutch women, Eythora Thorsdottir and the Wevers twins are in the best positions to make the team barring any injury, with several others fighting for those two final spots. For the Belgian girls, a 56 AA score is the goal as that will automatically qualify them to the team, with the Test Event team members plus Nina Derwael and Julie Meyers all still in contention. The Dutch men will also compete this weekend.

Schedule:
Saturday, June 25th
9:30am-12:30am local (3:30am-6:30am ET) – Junior AA (MAG + WAG)
3:15pm-6:15pm local (9:15am-12:15am ET) – Senior AA (MAG + WAG) + Belgian girls

Sunday, June 26th
1:30pm local (7:30am ET) – Event Finals

German Nationals 2016
Among the German men, Marcel Nguyen and Andreas Bretschneider are the main contenders with Fabian Hambuechen coming back from injury to still fight for a spot on the team. On the women’s side, Elizabeth Seitz, Sophie Scheder and Pauline Schaefer are the front runners with Kim Bui coming back from her ACL tear with great performances at Euros and new senior Tabea Alt also showing preparedness in her competition during the first half of the year. Pauline Tratz and Leah Griesser should also be in the mix.

Schedule:
Saturday, June 25th
12:30am local (6:30am ET) – MAG AA Finals
5:30pm local (11:30am) – WAG AA Finals

Sunday, June 26th
12am local (6am ET) – Event Finals

Livestream: AA Finals / Event Finals
Live results: here

Swiss Nationals 2016
Lastly, the Swiss gymnasts will also be competing against each other after recently performing at Euros in home soil. Failing to qualify a full team on the women’s side, Giulia Steingruber will most likely be their Olympic representative, with other beautiful gymnasts missing out on the biggest competition in the sport of gymnastics but hoping to continue to show their skills and performance. As for the men, several gymnasts will be fighting for a place on the team that will represent the country in Rio.

Schedule:
Saturday, June 25th
5:15pm-8:10pm local (11:15am-2:10pm ET) – MAG AA + WAG AA

Sunday, June 26th
11am-12:10am local (5am-6:10am ET) – Event Finals
2pm-3:15pm local (8am-9:15pm ET) – Event Finals

Anadia World Cup 2016
Aside from the national competitions, the World Challenge Cup circuit continues, this time in Anadia, Portugal, with gymnasts from various countries competing, such as Italy, Brazil, Australia, China and obviously Portugal. While for some this meet will mostly be about getting some experience before the Olympics, for other, like the Brazilians, this World Cup will act as one of their qualifying meets and every score could make a difference.

Schedule:
Thursday, June 23rd
3pm-7pm local (10am-2pm ET) – qualifications (MAG fx + ph + sr / WAG vt + ub)

Friday, June 24th
3pm-7pm local (10am-2pm ET) – qualifications (MAG vt + pb + hb / WAG bb + fx)

Saturday, June 25th
3pm-5:30pm local (10am-12:30am ET) – Event Finals (MAG fx + ph + sr / WAG vt + ub)

Sunday, June 26th
3pm-5:30pm local (10am-12:30am ET) – Event Finals (MAG vt + pb + hb / WAG bb + fx)

Livestreams: Saturday / Sunday

 

Full Schedule

Thursday, June 23rd
10am ET / 4pm CET – Anadia qualifications
2pm ET / 8pm CET – US Junior MAG Nationals
8:30pm ET / 2:30am CET – US MAG Olympic Trials

Friday, June 24th
10am ET / 4pm CET – Anadia qualifications
2pm ET / 8pm CET – US Junior WAG
9pm ET / 3am CET – US Senior WAG

Saturday, June 25th
3:30am ET / 9:30am CET – Dutch Junior AA (MAG + WAG)
6:30am ET / 12:30am CET – German MAG AA Finals
9:15am ET / 3:15pm CET – Dutch Senior AA (MAG + WAG) + Belgians
10am ET / 4pm CET – Anadia Event Finals
11:15am ET / 5:15pm CET – Swiss Nationals AA (MAG + WAG)
11:30am ET / 5:30pm CET – German WAG AA Finals
2pm ET / 8pm CET – US Junior MAG Nationals
9pm ET / 3am CET – US MAG Olympic Trials

Sunday, June 26th
5am ET / 11am CET – Swiss Nationals Event Finals
6am ET / 12am CET – German Nationals Event Finals
7:30am ET / 1:30pm CET – Dutch Event Finals
8am ET / 2pm CET – Swiss Nationals Event Finals
10am ET / 4pm CET – Anadia Event Finals
2pm ET / 8pm CET – US Junior WAG
9pm ET / 3am CET – US Senior WAG

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s